2015 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title XXXVI - PAWNBROKERS AND MONEYLENDERS
Chapter 399-A - REGULATION OF SMALL LOANS, TITLE LOANS, AND PAYDAY LOANS
Section 399-A:22 - Cease and Desist Orders.

NH Rev Stat § 399-A:22 (2015) What's This?


[RSA 399-A:22 effective January 1, 2016.]
    399-A:22 Cease and Desist Orders. –
    I. The department may issue a cease and desist order against any person who it has reasonable cause to believe has violated or is about to violate the provisions of this chapter or any rule or order under this chapter.
    II. (a) The order shall be calculated to give reasonable notice of the opportunity for a hearing and shall state the reasons for the issuance of the order.
       (b) Valid delivery of such order shall be by hand or certified mail at the last known principal office of the person.
       (c) A hearing, if requested, shall be held not later than 10 days after the written request for such hearing is received by the commissioner.
       (d) Within 20 days of the date of the hearing the commissioner shall issue a further order vacating the cease and desist order or making it permanent as issued or as amended by the commissioner.
       (e) If the person to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to appear at the hearing after being duly notified, such person shall be deemed in default, and the proceeding may be determined against him or her upon consideration of the cease and desist order, the allegations of which may be deemed to be true.
       (f) If the person to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to request a hearing within 30 calendar days of receipt or valid delivery of such order and no hearing is ordered by the commissioner, then such person shall likewise be deemed in default, and the order shall, on the 31st day, become permanent, and shall remain in full force and effect until and unless later modified or vacated by the commissioner, for good cause shown.
    III. If any person refuses to obey the commissioner's order, an action may be brought by the attorney general on the commissioner's behalf in any superior court in this state to enjoin such person from engaging in or continuing such violation or from doing any act or acts in furtherance of such violation. In any such action, an order or judgment may be entered awarding a temporary or permanent injunction, and awarding the commissioner or the attorney general or both costs in bringing such action. Any person who fails to comply with such injunction shall be subject to a fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment, or both.

Source. 2015, 73:1, eff. Jan. 1, 2016.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.