There is a newer version of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes
2015 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title XXII - NAVIGATION; HARBORS; COAST SURVEY
Chapter 270-D - BOATING AND WATER SAFETY ON NEW HAMPSHIRE PUBLIC WATERS
Section 270-D:13 - Issuance of Safe Boater Education Certificate.
NH Rev Stat § 270-D:13 (2015) What's This?
270-D:13 Issuance of Safe Boater Education Certificate.
I. The commissioner or designee shall issue a safe boater education certificate to a person 16 years of age or older who:
(a) Passes a safe boater education course approved by the commissioner in accordance with the criteria of the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators. A classroom course shall provide a minimum of 8 hours of instruction. Passage of a safe boater education course shall require successful completion of a proctored examination administered by a person authorized by the commissioner in accordance with rules adopted by the commissioner. The minimum passing grade for the examination shall be 80 percent; or
(b) Passes a safe boater equivalency examination administered by persons approved to offer boating safety education courses. The minimum passing grade for the examination shall be 80 percent. A certificate issued to a person passing the equivalency examination shall specify that the certificate is issued as evidence of satisfactory completion of a safe boater examination and entitles the holder to operate a vessel on the public waters of New Hampshire.
II. Once issued, the certificate of safe boater education shall be valid for the lifetime of the person and may not be revoked by the department of safety or a court without cause and a hearing in accordance with RSA 541-A.
III. The commissioner, or designee, shall replace a lost or destroyed certificate upon written request of the person entitled thereto and payment of the prescribed fee, and such copy shall have the same form and effect as the original.
IV. Any person who successfully completes a safe boater education course or safe boater equivalency examination after reaching the age of 15 shall be issued a safe boater education certificate upon attaining the age of 16.
Source. 2000, 52:3. 2002, 272:4, 5. 2006, 283:2, eff. Jan. 1, 2007. 2010, 42:1, eff. May 18, 2010.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.