There is a newer version of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes
2015 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title XXII - NAVIGATION; HARBORS; COAST SURVEY
Chapter 270-D - BOATING AND WATER SAFETY ON NEW HAMPSHIRE PUBLIC WATERS
Section 270-D:11 - Possession Required; Penalty.
NH Rev Stat § 270-D:11 (2015) What's This?
270-D:11 Possession Required; Penalty.
I. Any person required to have a safe boater education certificate shall:
(a) Possess the certificate when operating a motorized vessel with any type of power motor in excess of 25 horsepower on the public waters of the state.
(b) Present the certificate upon the demand of a marine patrol officer.
II. No person charged with a violation of this section shall be convicted if, within a period of 48 hours, the person presents to the officer evidence that he or she held a valid safe boater education certificate which was in effect at the time of the violation.
III. Enforcement of this section shall be accomplished only as a secondary action when an operator of a motorized or registered vessel has been cited, charged with, or issued a written warning for a violation or some other offense, or as a primary action when an operator is involved in an accident.
IV. Any person who violates this section shall be guilty of a violation punishable by a fine of $50 for a first offense and $250 for any subsequent offense.
Source. 2000, 52:3. 2002, 272:3, eff. May 18, 2002. 2011, 149:1, eff. Jan. 1, 2012.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.