There is a newer version of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes
2015 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title XXI - MOTOR VEHICLES
Chapter 265 - RULES OF THE ROAD
Section 265:144 - Riding on Bicycles.
NH Rev Stat § 265:144 (2015) What's This?
265:144 Riding on Bicycles.
I. A person propelling a bicycle shall not ride other than upon or astride a permanent and regular seat attached to the bicycle.
II. No bicycle shall be used to carry more persons at one time than the number for which it is designed and equipped.
III. No person riding upon any bicycle, coaster, roller skates, skateboard, sled or toy vehicle shall attach the same or himself to any vehicle upon a roadway.
IV. No person operating a bicycle shall carry any package, bundle or article which prevents the driver from keeping at least one hand upon the handlebars.
V. Persons riding bicycles 2 or more abreast shall not impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic and, on a laned roadway, shall ride within a single lane.
VI. Bicyclists intending to turn right or left shall not be required to give a continuous hand or arm signal if the hand is needed in the control or operation of the bicycle.
VII. A person propelling a bicycle may pass a slower-moving vehicle in the same lane provided such movement can be made with reasonable safety. A person propelling a bicycle may pass a stationary or stopped motor vehicle on the right.
VIII. Any bicyclist shall stop upon demand of a peace officer and permit his bicycle to be inspected.
IX. No bicycle shall be operated unless the steering, brakes, tires and other required equipment are in safe condition.
X. No person less than 16 years of age may operate or ride upon a bicycle on a public way unless he or she wears protective headgear of a type approved by the commissioner of health and human services.
XI. A person propelling a bicycle upon a way at a speed less than the normal speed of traffic moving in the same direction at that time and place shall remain on the right portion of the way as far as practicable except when it is unsafe to do so or:
(a) When overtaking and passing another bicycle or any other vehicle proceeding in the same direction.
(b) When preparing for or making a left turn at an intersection or into a driveway.
(c) When proceeding straight in a place where right turns are permitted.
(d) When necessary to avoid hazardous conditions, including, but not limited to, fixed or moving objects, vehicles, bicycles, pedestrians, animals, broken pavement, glass, sand, puddles, ice, or opening doors of parked vehicles.
XII. A bicyclist shall wear at least one item of reflective outerwear apparel, such as a reflective vest, jacket, or helmet strip, during the period from 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise.
Source. RSA 250:17-a. 1973, 440:2. 1981, 146:1; 422:10. 2005, 100:2. 2008, 209:3, 4, eff. Jan. 1, 2009.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.