There is a newer version of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes
2015 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title XXI - MOTOR VEHICLES
Chapter 265 - RULES OF THE ROAD
Section 265:122 - Protective Headgear.
NH Rev Stat § 265:122 (2015) What's This?
265:122 Protective Headgear.
I. No person less than 18 years of age may drive or ride upon a motorcycle or autocycle unless he or she wears protective headgear of a type approved by the director. Such headgear shall be equipped with either a neck or chin strap.
II. The director is hereby authorized and empowered to adopt rules pursuant to RSA 260:5 covering the types of protective headgear and the specifications therefor and to establish and maintain a list of approved headgear which meet established specifications.
III. If federal law is altered so that the mandatory wearing of protective headgear on motorcycles or autocycles by persons less than 18 years of age is not required as a condition to the receipt by the state of any federal funds, paragraphs I and II shall be void.
IV. Any motorcycle or autocycle operator who transports a person under the age of 18 years, when such person is in violation of paragraph I, shall be guilty of a violation.
Source. RSA 263:29-b. 1967, 443:1. 1977, 173:1. 1981, 146:1. 1990, 79:7, eff. June 9, 1990. 2015, 222:7, eff. July 1, 2015.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.