2015 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Section 262:36-a - Disposal by Storage Company.

NH Rev Stat § 262:36-a (2015) What's This?

    262:36-a Disposal by Storage Company. –
    I. If the owner of a motor vehicle removed or stored pursuant to RSA 262:33 or RSA 262:40-a does not claim the vehicle within 20 days, and the vehicle is more than 5 model years old at the time of removal, the storage company may dispose of such vehicle after giving notice pursuant to RSA 262:38, provided that no notice by publication shall be required.
    II. If the vehicle is 5 model years old or less at the time of removal and the vehicle has not been claimed within 30 days, the storage company may dispose of such vehicle after giving notice pursuant to RSA 262:38.
    III. If the value of the vehicle is less than $1,000 or the vehicle is so vandalized, damaged, or in disrepair as to be unusable as a motor vehicle and only fit for salvage as determined in good faith through the application of reasonable automotive industry standards, the storage facility may dispose of the vehicle in 15 days without the notice required by RSA 262:38 and RSA 444. If the last place of abode of the owner of such vehicle is known to or may be ascertained by such storage facility by the exercise of reasonable diligence, the storage facility shall give notice of the time and place of the sale to the owner by verified mail as defined in RSA 451-C:1, VII, or in person, at least 10 days prior to the disposal and upon written notice to the director subject to such rules as the department shall adopt pursuant to RSA 541-A.
    IV. If the towing or storage facility has knowledge or has been notified that the owner of the vehicle is hospitalized or incarcerated as a result of an accident, the time allowed for claiming the vehicle under paragraph I shall be extended for an additional 14 days or until the person has been released from the medical facility or place of incarceration, whichever occurs first.

Source. 1989, 253:5. 2010, 344:5. 2012, 207:4, eff. Aug. 12, 2012.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.