There is a newer version of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes
2015 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title XXI - MOTOR VEHICLES
Chapter 262 - ANTITHEFT LAWS, OFFENSES, PENALTIES, HABITUAL OFFENDERS, ARREST OF NONRESIDENTS AND ABANDONED VEHICLES
Section 262:35-a - Review of Fees for Removal and Impoundment.
NH Rev Stat § 262:35-a (2015) What's This?
262:35-a Review of Fees for Removal and Impoundment.
I. All fees charged for the removal and storage of any vehicle caused to be removed by an authorized official pursuant to RSA 262:32 or RSA 262:40-a shall be reasonable, and may reflect market variables, including, but not limited to, distance traveled to and from the storage facility, vehicle size and weight, the amount of time needed to remove and store the vehicle, any special equipment needed, and personnel costs. If the owner or other person lawfully entitled to possession of the vehicle wishes to challenge the reasonableness of the fee charged, the owner or other person may pay over to the custodian of the vehicle an amount equal to the towing and storage charges to secure the release of the vehicle, and, within 15 days of the release of the vehicle, request in writing a review by the commissioner of safety. The commissioner of safety or designee shall review the claim to determine if there are sufficient grounds to conduct a hearing to determine whether the charge was reasonable. If the commissioner or designee determines that a hearing is necessary, the hearing shall be scheduled by the bureau of hearings within 20 days after review by the commissioner, at which time the extent of removal and storage fees shall be determined. The commissioner or designee shall approve or disapprove of the decision of the bureau of hearings within 7 days after the hearing was held. Notwithstanding RSA 262:25, any person aggrieved by a decision of the commissioner or designee under this section may appeal the decision to the superior court in the same manner as that prescribed in RSA 263:75, II and III. If no request for review is filed within the 15-day period, the owner or other person lawfully entitled to possession of the vehicle shall be deemed to have waived all rights to review under this section and shall be liable for the total amount billed.
II. Nothing in this section shall prevent a review of the reasonableness of the towing or other action as may be permitted by laws of this state by a court of competent jurisdiction.
III. Any time that a person is storing a vehicle pursuant to the provisions of this subdivision, the person may remove any items from within the vehicle that are not a part of or accessories to the vehicle. The person may hold any such items, other than wallets, purses, life essential clothing, mail, legal documents, car seats, eyeglasses, medicine, medical equipment, or house keys pending payment of any fees due under this subdivision. If fees remain unpaid after 20 days, the person may dispose of the items.
Source. 2001, 213:1. 2003, 119:1. 2010, 344:4, eff. Sept. 18, 2010.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.