2015 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title LVI - PROBATE COURTS AND DECEDENTS' ESTATES
Chapter 551 - WILLS
Section 551:2-a - Self-Proved Wills.
551:2-a Self-Proved Wills.
I. To qualify as self-proved, the signatures of the testator and witnesses shall be followed by a sworn acknowledgment made before a notary public or justice of the peace or other official authorized to administer oaths in the place of execution, as follows:
The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this __________ (day) by ___, the testator; ___ and ___, the witnesses, who under oath do swear as follows:
1. The testator signed the instrument as the testator's will or expressly directed another to sign for the testator.
2. This was the testator's free and voluntary act for the purposes expressed in the will.
3. Each witness signed at the request of the testator, in the testator's presence, and in the presence of the other witness.
4. To the best of my knowledge, at the time of the signing the testator was at least 18 years of age, or if under 18 years was a married person, and was of sane mind and under no constraint or undue influence.
II. Any will meeting the requirements of RSA 551-A shall also qualify as self-proved and shall be allowed as such by the probate court.
Source. 1983, 255:2. 1985, 200:2. 1999, 100:3, eff. Jan. 1, 2000.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.