2010 New Hampshire Statutes
TITLE XXXVI PAWNBROKERS AND MONEYLENDERS
CHAPTER 399-A REGULATION OF SMALL LOANS, TITLE LOANS, AND PAYDAY LOANS
Section 399-A:15 Title Loan Renewals.


NH Rev Stat § 399-A:15 (1996 through Reg Sess) What's This?

399-A:15 Title Loan Renewals. – A title loan shall be for an original term of no more than one month. A title loan lender may allow such loan to be renewed no more than 11 additional periods each equal the original term, provided however, that at each such renewal the borrower must pay at least 5 percent of the loan's original principal balance, in addition to any finance charge owed, to reduce the principal balance outstanding. If the borrower cannot pay this principal reduction at any renewal, the title loan lender may either: (i) declare the borrower in default, or (ii) allow the loan to be renewed, provided that the lender shall reduce the current principal amount of the loan by 5 percent of the original principal amount for the purposes of calculating interest thereafter. This reduction in principal shall continue to be owed by the borrower, but such amount shall not be entitled to accrue interest thereafter. For the purpose of this section, a renewal is any extension of a title loan for an additional period without any change in the terms of the title loan other than a reduction in principal. No accrued interest shall be capitalized or added to the principal of the loan at the time of any renewal.

Source. 2003, 308:1, eff. July 21, 2003.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.