2010 New Hampshire Statutes
TITLE XL AGRICULTURE, HORTICULTURE AND ANIMAL HUSBANDRY
CHAPTER 436 DISEASES OF DOMESTIC ANIMALS
Section 436:100 Rabies Vaccination Required; Exemption.
436:100 Rabies Vaccination Required; Exemption.
I. Except as provided in paragraph II, every dog, cat, and ferret 3 months of age and older shall be vaccinated against rabies. Young dogs, cats, and ferrets shall be vaccinated within 30 days after they have reached 3 months of age. Unvaccinated dogs, cats, and ferrets acquired or moved into the state shall be vaccinated within 30 days after purchase or arrival, unless under 3 months of age, as specified above. Every dog, cat, and ferret shall be revaccinated between 9 and 12 months after the initial vaccination and subsequently receive booster vaccines as outlined in the most current National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians' Compendium of Animal Rabies Prevention and Control. In rabies infected areas, dogs, cats, and ferrets recently vaccinated shall be kept under control for at least 30 days before being allowed to run free.
II. A rabies immunization exemption may be issued, where illness or a veterinary medical condition warrants, by the local rabies control authority upon the written recommendation of a veterinarian licensed under RSA 332-B. The recommendation shall also be signed by an American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine diplomate and the state veterinarian. The exempted animal shall be maintained in strict rabies isolation, under conditions that are at the discretion of the local rabies control authority, until such time as the medical condition has been resolved and the animal can be immunized against rabies. Exempted animals shall not be allowed outdoors without being on a leash and shall be under the direct physical control of an adult owner at all times. In addition, when the animal is outdoors, it shall be muzzled in a manner approved by the local rabies control authority. The exemption shall be valid for no more than one year from the date of the last signature on the written recommendation for exemption.
Source. 1985, 72:1. 1992, 250:3. 1995, 202:4, eff. June 12, 1995. 2007, 79:1, eff. Jan. 1, 2008. 2009, 296:12, eff. Sept. 29, 2009.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.