2010 New Hampshire Statutes
TITLE LV PROCEEDINGS IN SPECIAL CASES
CHAPTER 540 ACTIONS AGAINST TENANTS
Section 540:3 Eviction Notice.
540:3 Eviction Notice.
I. If a nonresidential tenant neglects or refuses to pay rent due and in arrears, upon demand, 7 days' notice shall be sufficient; if the rent is payable more frequently than once in 3 months, whether such rent is due or not, a notice equal to the rent period shall be sufficient, and 3 months' notice shall be sufficient in all cases.
II. For all residential tenancies, 30 days' notice shall be sufficient in all cases; provided, however, that 7 days' notice shall be sufficient if the reason for the termination is as set forth in RSA 540:2, II(a), (b), or (d).
III. The eviction notice shall state with specificity the reason for the eviction.
IV. If the eviction notice is based on nonpayment of rent, the notice shall inform the tenant of his or her right, if any, to avoid the eviction by payment of the arrearages and liquidated damages in accordance with RSA 540:9.
V. For the purpose of interpreting or enforcing any lease or rental agreement for residential tenants in effect on July 1, 2006, a notice to quit shall be deemed an eviction notice under this section.
Source. RS 209:2. CS 222:2. GS 231:2. GL 250:2. PS 246:3. PL 357:3. 1939, 63:1. RL 413:3. RSA 540:3. 1979, 305:2. 1985, 249:3. 1988, 100:1. 2006, 192:3, eff. Jan. 1, 2007.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.