2020 Nevada Revised Statutes
Chapter 483 - Drivers’ Licenses; Driving Schools and Driving Instructors
NRS 483.417 - One-time waiver of fees to furnish duplicate license to homeless person or person recently released from prison, jail or detention facility; one-time waiver of fee to furnish original or duplicate license to homeless child or youth; acceptance of gifts, grants and donations. [Effective January 1, 2020.]

Universal Citation: NV Rev Stat § 483.417 (2020)

1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 4, the Department shall waive the fee prescribed by NRS 483.410 and the increase in the fee required by NRS 483.347 not more than one time for furnishing a duplicate driver’s license to:

(a) A homeless person who submits a signed affidavit on a form prescribed by the Department stating that the person is homeless.

(b) A person who submits documentation from the Department of Corrections verifying that the person was released from prison within the immediately preceding 90 days.

(c) A person who submits documentation from a county, city or town jail or detention facility verifying that the person was released from the county, city or town jail or detention facility, as applicable, within the immediately preceding 90 days.

2. A vendor that has entered into an agreement with the Department to produce photographs for drivers’ licenses pursuant to NRS 483.347 may waive the cost it charges the Department to produce the photograph of a homeless person or person released from prison or a county, city or town jail or detention facility for a duplicate driver’s license.

3. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 4, if the vendor does not waive pursuant to subsection 2 the cost it charges the Department and the Department has waived the increase in the fee required by NRS 483.347 for a duplicate driver’s license furnished to a person pursuant to subsection 1, the person shall reimburse the Department in an amount equal to the increase in the fee required by NRS 483.347 if the person:

(a) Applies to the Department for the renewal of his or her driver’s license; and

(b) Is employed at the time of such application.

4. The Department shall waive the fee prescribed by NRS 483.410, the increase in the fee required by NRS 483.347 and the reimbursement required by subsection 3 not more than one time for furnishing an original driver’s license or a duplicate driver’s license to a homeless child or youth under the age of 25 years who submits a signed affidavit on a form prescribed by the Department stating that the child or youth is homeless and under the age of 25 years.

5. The Department may accept gifts, grants and donations of money to fund the provision of original and duplicate drivers’ licenses without a fee to persons pursuant to subsections 1 and 4.

6. As used in this section, "homeless child or youth" has the meaning ascribed to it in 42 U.S.C. § 11434a.

(Added to NRS by 2005, 1215; A 2011, 2604; 2017, 4055; 2019, 4504, effective January 1, 2020)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Nevada may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.