2017 Nevada Revised Statutes
Chapter 200 - Crimes Against the Person
NRS 200.400 - Definition; penalties.

Universal Citation: NV Rev Stat § 200.400 (2017)

1. As used in this section:

(a) “Battery” means any willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon the person of another.

(b) “Strangulation” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 200.481.

2. A person who is convicted of battery with the intent to commit mayhem, robbery or grand larceny is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 10 years, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $10,000.

3. A person who is convicted of battery with the intent to kill is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 20 years.

4. A person who is convicted of battery with the intent to commit sexual assault shall be punished:

(a) If the crime results in substantial bodily harm to the victim or is committed by strangulation, for a category A felony by imprisonment in the state prison:

(1) For life without the possibility of parole; or

(2) For life with the possibility of parole, with eligibility for parole beginning when a minimum of 10 years has been served.

(b) If the crime does not result in substantial bodily harm to the victim and the victim is 16 years of age or older, for a category A felony by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of life with the possibility of parole.

(c) If the crime does not result in substantial bodily harm to the victim and the victim is a child under the age of 16, for a category A felony by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 5 years and a maximum term of life with the possibility of parole.

↪ In addition to any other penalty, a person convicted pursuant to this subsection may be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000.

[1911 C&P § 148; RL § 6413; NCL § 10095]—(NRS A 1967, 471; 1971, 1385; 1973, 1805; 1977, 1628; 1979, 1426; 1981, 903; 1985, 247; 1991, 123; 1995, 1188; 2005, 2875; 2009, 87; 2015, 2236)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Nevada may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.