2015 Nevada Revised Statutes
Chapter 41A - Actions for Medical or Dental Malpractice
NRS 41A.097 - Limitation of actions; tolling of limitation.

NV Rev Stat § 41A.097 (2015) What's This?

1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, an action for injury or death against a provider of health care may not be commenced more than 4 years after the date of injury or 2 years after the plaintiff discovers or through the use of reasonable diligence should have discovered the injury, whichever occurs first, for:

(a) Injury to or the wrongful death of a person occurring before October 1, 2002, based upon alleged professional negligence of the provider of health care;

(b) Injury to or the wrongful death of a person occurring before October 1, 2002, from professional services rendered without consent; or

(c) Injury to or the wrongful death of a person occurring before October 1, 2002, from error or omission in practice by the provider of health care.

2. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, an action for injury or death against a provider of health care may not be commenced more than 3 years after the date of injury or 1 year after the plaintiff discovers or through the use of reasonable diligence should have discovered the injury, whichever occurs first, for:

(a) Injury to or the wrongful death of a person occurring on or after October 1, 2002, based upon alleged professional negligence of the provider of health care;

(b) Injury to or the wrongful death of a person occurring on or after October 1, 2002, from professional services rendered without consent; or

(c) Injury to or the wrongful death of a person occurring on or after October 1, 2002, from error or omission in practice by the provider of health care.

3. This time limitation is tolled for any period during which the provider of health care has concealed any act, error or omission upon which the action is based and which is known or through the use of reasonable diligence should have been known to the provider of health care.

4. For the purposes of this section, the parent, guardian or legal custodian of any minor child is responsible for exercising reasonable judgment in determining whether to prosecute any cause of action limited by subsection 1 or 2. If the parent, guardian or custodian fails to commence an action on behalf of that child within the prescribed period of limitations, the child may not bring an action based on the same alleged injury against any provider of health care upon the removal of the child’s disability, except that in the case of:

(a) Brain damage or birth defect, the period of limitation is extended until the child attains 10 years of age.

(b) Sterility, the period of limitation is extended until 2 years after the child discovers the injury.

(Added to NRS by 1971, 366; A 1975, 407; 1977, 857, 954, 1082; 1985, 2011; 1989, 424; 1991, 1131; 1993, 2224; 1995, 2350; 1999, 5; 2001, 1107; 2002 Special Session, 8; 2004 initiative petition, Ballot Question No. 3)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Nevada may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.