2015 Nevada Revised Statutes
Chapter 116B - Condominium Hotel Act
NRS 116B.635 - Foreclosure of liens: Mailing of notice of delinquent assessment; recording of notice of default and election to sell; period during which unit’s owner may pay lien to avoid foreclosure; limitations on type of lien that may be foreclosed.
1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 4, in a condominium hotel, the association or hotel unit owner, as applicable, may foreclose its lien by sale after all of the following occur:
(a) The association or hotel unit owner, as applicable, has mailed by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, to the residential unit owner or his or her successor in interest, at the residential unit owner’s address, if known, and at the address of the residential unit, a notice of delinquent assessment which states the amount of the assessments and other sums which are due, a description of the residential unit against which the lien is imposed and the name of the record owner of the residential unit.
(b) Not less than 30 days after mailing the notice of delinquent assessment or charge pursuant to paragraph (a), the association or hotel unit owner, as applicable, has executed and caused to be recorded, with the county recorder of the county in which the condominium hotel or any part of it is situated, a notice of default and election to sell the residential unit to satisfy the lien which must contain the same information as the notice of delinquent assessment and which must also comply with the following:
(1) Describe the deficiency in payment.
(2) State the name and address of the person authorized by the association, the declarant or hotel unit owner, as applicable, to enforce the lien by sale.
(3) Contain, in 14-point bold type, the following warning:
WARNING! IF YOU FAIL TO PAY THE AMOUNT SPECIFIED IN THIS NOTICE, YOU COULD LOSE YOUR HOME, EVEN IF THE AMOUNT IS IN DISPUTE!
(c) The residential unit owner or his or her successor in interest has failed to pay the amount of the lien, including costs, fees and expenses incident to its enforcement, for 90 days following the recording of the notice of default and election to sell.
2. The notice of default and election to sell must be signed by the person designated in the declaration or by the association or hotel unit owner, as applicable, for that purpose.
3. The period of 90 days begins on the first day following:
(a) The date on which the notice of default is recorded; or
(b) The date on which a copy of the notice of default is mailed by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, to the residential unit owner or his or her successor in interest at the residential unit owner’s address, if known, and at the address of the residential unit,
↪ whichever date occurs later.
4. The association may not foreclose a lien by sale based on a fine or penalty for a violation of the governing documents of the association unless:
(a) The violation poses an imminent threat of causing a substantial adverse effect on the health, safety or welfare of the units’ owners or residents of the condominium hotel; or
(b) The penalty is imposed for failure to adhere to a schedule required pursuant to this chapter.
(Added to NRS by 2007, 2240)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Nevada may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.