2015 Nevada Revised Statutes
Chapter 116B - Condominium Hotel Act
NRS 116B.630 - Liens against units for assessments.
1. The association or the hotel unit owner, as applicable, has a lien on a unit for any assessment or charge, including assessments for common expenses and charges for shared expenses or other charges of the hotel unit owner, authorized by this chapter that is levied against that unit or any fines imposed against the unit’s owner from the time the assessment, charge or fine becomes due. If an assessment is payable in installments, the full amount of the assessment or charge is a lien from the time the first installment thereof becomes due.
2. A lien under this section is prior to all other liens and encumbrances on a unit except:
(a) Liens and encumbrances recorded before the recordation of the declaration;
(b) A first security interest on the unit recorded before the date on which the assessment sought to be enforced became delinquent;
(c) Liens for real estate taxes and other governmental assessments or charges against the unit; and
(d) Mechanics’ or materialmen’s liens.
3. Unless the declaration otherwise provides, if the association and the hotel unit owner both have liens for assessments or charges created at any time on the same property, the priority of those liens is governed by Nevada law.
4. Recording of the declaration constitutes record notice and perfection of the lien. No further recordation of any claim of lien for assessment or charge under this section is required.
5. A lien for unpaid assessments or charges is extinguished unless proceedings to enforce the lien are instituted within 3 years after the full amount of the assessments or charges become due.
6. This section does not prohibit actions to recover sums for which subsection 1 creates a lien or prohibit an association or the hotel unit owner, as applicable, from taking a deed in lieu of foreclosure.
7. A judgment or decree in any action brought under this section must include costs and reasonable attorney’s fees for the prevailing party.
8. The association or the hotel unit owner, as applicable, upon written request, shall furnish to a residential unit owner a statement setting forth the amount of unpaid assessments or charges against the unit. If the interest of the unit’s owner is real estate or if a lien for the unpaid assessments or charges may be foreclosed under this chapter, the statement must be in recordable form. The statement must be furnished within 10 business days after receipt of the request and is binding on the association or the declarant, as applicable, and every unit’s owner.
(Added to NRS by 2007, 2239)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Nevada may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.