2014 Nevada Revised Statutes
Chapter 484B - Rules of the Road
NRS 484B.290 - Right-of-way of person who is blind; penalty.

NV Rev Stat § 484B.290 (2014) What's This?

1. A person who is blind and who is on foot and using a service animal or carrying a cane or walking stick white in color, or white tipped with red, has the right-of-way when entering or when on a highway, street or road of this State. Any driver of a vehicle who approaches or encounters such a person shall yield the right-of-way, come to a full stop, if necessary, and take precautions before proceeding to avoid accident or injury to the person.

2. Any person who violates subsection 1 shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 6 months or by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500, or by both fine and imprisonment.

(Added to NRS by 1981, 669; A 1995, 1993; 2005, 631) (Substituted in revision for NRS 484.328)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Nevada may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.