2014 Nevada Revised Statutes
Chapter 205 - Crimes Against Property
NRS 205.0835 - Penalties.

NV Rev Stat § 205.0835 (2014) What's This?

1. Unless a greater penalty is imposed by a specific statute and unless the provisions of NRS 205.08345 apply under the circumstances, a person who commits theft in violation of any provision of NRS 205.0821 to 205.0835, inclusive, shall be punished pursuant to the provisions of this section.

2. If the value of the property or services involved in the theft is less than $650, the person who committed the theft is guilty of a misdemeanor.

3. If the value of the property or services involved in the theft is $650 or more but less than $3,500, the person who committed the theft is guilty of a category C felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.

4. If the value of the property or services involved in the theft is $3,500 or more, the person who committed the theft is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 10 years, and by a fine of not more than $10,000.

5. In addition to any other penalty, the court shall order the person who committed the theft to pay restitution.

(Added to NRS by 1989, 1205; A 1995, 1216; 1997, 340; 2007, 683; 2011, 162)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Nevada may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.