2014 Nevada Revised Statutes
Chapter 202 - Crimes Against Public Health and Safety
NRS 202.882 - Duty to report violent or sexual offense against child 12 years of age or younger; penalty for failure to report; contents of report.
1. Except as otherwise provided in NRS 202.885 and 202.888, a person who knows or has reasonable cause to believe that another person has committed a violent or sexual offense against a child who is 12 years of age or younger shall:
(a) Report the commission of the violent or sexual offense against the child to a law enforcement agency; and
(b) Make such a report as soon as reasonably practicable but not later than 24 hours after the person knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the other person has committed the violent or sexual offense against the child.
2. A person who knowingly and willfully violates the provisions of subsection 1 is guilty of a misdemeanor.
3. A report made pursuant to this section must include, without limitation:
(a) If known, the name of the child and the name of the person who committed the violent or sexual offense against the child;
(b) The location where the violent or sexual offense was committed; and
(c) The facts and circumstances which support the person s belief that the violent or sexual offense was committed.
(Added to NRS by 1999, 3523)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Nevada may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.