2018 Missouri Revised Statutes
Title XXVI - Trade and Commerce
Chapter 407 - Merchandising Practices
Section 407.303 Scrap metal dealers — payments in excess of $500 to be made by check — exceptions — violations, penalty.

Universal Citation: MO Rev Stat § 407.303 (2018)

Effective 28 Aug 2013

Title XXVI TRADE AND COMMERCE

Chapter 407

407.303. Scrap metal dealers — payments in excess of $500 to be made by check — exceptions — violations, penalty. — 1. Any scrap metal dealer paying out an amount that is five hundred dollars or more shall make such payment by issuing a prenumbered check drawn on a regular bank account in the name of the licensed scrap metal dealer and with such check made payable to the person documented as the seller in accordance with this section, or by using a system for automated cash or electronic payment distribution which photographs or videotapes the payment recipient and identifies the payment with a distinct transaction in the register maintained in accordance with this chapter.

2. Any scrap metal dealer that purchases scrap metal from a seller and pays in the form of cash is required to obtain a copy of the seller's driver's license or nondriver's license if the metal is copper or a catalytic converter. This section shall not apply to any transaction for which the seller has an existing business relationship with the scrap metal dealer and is known to the scrap metal dealer making the purchase to be an established business or political subdivision that operates a business with a fixed location that can be reasonably expected to generate regulated scrap metal and can be reasonably identified as such a business.

3. Any person who knowingly and willfully violates the provisions of sections 407.300 to 407.303 shall be guilty of a class B misdemeanor and a fine of up to five hundred dollars for the first offense, a class A misdemeanor and a fine of up to one thousand dollars for the second offense, and the revocation of any and all business licenses that are held with the state for the third offense.

4. Any person in violation of sections 407.300 to 407.303 by selling stolen scrap metal shall be responsible for consequential damages related to obtaining the scrap metal.

­­--------

(L. 2008 S.B. 1034 & 802, A.L. 2013 S.B. 157 and S.B. 102)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Missouri may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.