2020 Mississippi Code
Title 73 - Professions and Vocations
Chapter 4 - Auctioneers
§ 73-4-43. Requirement of license; penalties for unlicensed conduct

Universal Citation: MS Code § 73-4-43 (2020)
  1. An individual may not act as an auctioneer without first having obtained and having in effect the license required under this chapter.
  2. Any person, except a licensed auctioneer who shall have become exempt by reason of compliance with the applicable provisions of this chapter, may not operate an auction firm without having obtained and having in effect a license for such auction firm as required under this chapter.
  3. A person who violates the provisions of this section shall be fined, upon conviction, not more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00).
  4. When the commission or its authorized designee determines that person or party not licensed under this chapter is engaged in or is believed to be engaged in activities for which a license is required under this chapter, the commission or its designee may issue an order requiring that person to desist immediately and refrain from such conduct or activities. The affected person or party may appeal the issuance of the cease and desist order by filing notice of appeal within seven (7) calendar days after service of the order. A hearing must be held within twenty (20) days after a notice of appeal has been timely filed. Service of the cease and desist order shall be considered to have been given if the notice or order was personally served on the person or party or if the order was mailed by certified United States mail to the person's or party's last known address available to the commission. A person or party who has been issued an order to cease and desist that has become final either through default or administrative proceeding before the commission may not engage in the activity or conduct which is the subject of the order. A cease and desist order issued by the commission shall be enforceable in the courts of competent jurisdiction in this state.
  5. Any person or party that practices, offers to practice, attempts to practice, or holds oneself out to practice as an auctioneer, auction firm, or any other licensee under this chapter without being licensed by the commission shall, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, pay a civil penalty to the commission in an amount not to exceed Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) for each offense as determined by the commission. The civil penalty shall be paid within sixty (60) calendar days after the effective date of the order imposing the penalty. The order shall constitute a judgment and may be filed and execution had thereon in the same manner from any court of record.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.