2020 Mississippi Code
Title 37 - Education
Chapter 41 - Transportation of Pupils
§ 37-41-53. Inspections and safety requirements for motor vehicles used for public school district transportation; condemnation of unsafe school district buses; penalties for operation of condemned bus
- Each school board, person, firm or corporation transporting public school district children on the public roads, streets and highways of the state with motor vehicles shall have the motor vehicles inspected according to regulations promulgated by the State Department of Education. Each motor vehicle shall be inspected by a competent mechanic to be safe for transporting pupils on the roads, streets and highways of the state before it is released for such purpose. If the motor vehicle is found to be unsafe for transporting pupils, then it shall be properly repaired or adjusted as necessary before being used to transport pupils. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to vehicles owned by individuals and under private contract to the school district and used exclusively for transporting members of their immediate families.
- The State Department of Education may inspect, at its discretion, any school bus used for transporting school district pupils to and from the public schools or for activity purposes to determine the safety of such motor vehicle for operation on the roads, streets and highways of this state. In the event a vehicle is inspected and is found to be unsafe for transporting pupils, a report shall be filed with the appropriate school district official indicating its deficiencies with recommendations for correcting such deficiencies.
- If it is determined that any school district buses are in such defective condition as to constitute an emergency safety hazard, those buses may be condemned and removed from service and shall not be returned to service until adequate repairs are completed and the buses are reinspected by the State Department of Education. Any school district official who approves the operation of any school bus that has been removed from service under the conditions listed above, prior to being reinspected by the State Department of Education, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed sixty (60) days, or a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment, in the discretion of the court.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.