2016 Mississippi Code
Title 75 - Regulation of Trade, Commerce and Investments
Chapter 67 - Loans
Article 13 - Mississippi Credit Availability Act
§ 75-67-627. Engaging in business without license; penalty [Repealed effective July 1, 2018]
(1) Any person who engages in the business of offering credit availability transactions without first securing a license prescribed by this article shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof, shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed One Thousand Dollars ($ 1,000.00) or by confinement in the county jail for not more than one (1) year, or both.
(2) Any person who engages in the business of offering credit availability transactions without first securing a license prescribed by this article shall be liable for the full amount of the license fee, plus a penalty in an amount not to exceed Twenty-five Dollars ($ 25.00) for each day that the person engaged in the business without a license. All licensing fees and penalties shall be paid into the Consumer Finance Fund of the Department of Banking and Consumer Finance.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.