2015 Mississippi Code
Title 63 - MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC REGULATIONS
Chapter 2 - MANDATORY USE OF SAFETY SEAT BELTS
§ 63-2-7 - Offenses and penalties; recording of violations
(1) A violation of this chapter shall be a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of Twenty-five Dollars ($ 25.00) upon conviction; however, only the operator of a vehicle may be fined for a violation of this chapter by the operator, for a violation of this chapter by a front seat passenger or for a violation of this chapter by a child who is under seven (7) years of age and who is not required to be protected by the use of a child passenger restraint device or system or a belt positioning booster seat system under the provisions of Sections 63-7-301 through 63-7-311, regardless of the seat that the child occupies. The maximum fine that may be imposed against the operator of a vehicle for a violation of this chapter by the operator or for a violation of this chapter by one or more passengers shall be Twenty-five Dollars ($ 25.00) in the aggregate.
(2) A violation of this chapter shall not be entered on the driving record of any individual so convicted, nor shall any state assessment provided for by Section 99-19-73, or any other state law, be imposed or collected.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.