2015 Mississippi Code
Title 27 - TAXATION AND FINANCE
Chapter 7 - INCOME TAX AND WITHHOLDING
Article 3 - WITHHOLDING OF TAX
§ 27-7-345 - Civil penalties for failure to file return or deficiency in payment of tax

MS Code § 27-7-345 (2015) What's This?

Any taxpayer who either fails to file a required return within the time prescribed, or who fails to remit the tax or remits less than the amount due under the return, shall be liable for the following penalties:

(a) (i) If the failure to file a return within the time prescribed, or the failure to pay the tax or any part thereof, was not the result of any fraudulent intent, the taxpayer shall be liable for a penalty in the amount of ten percent (10%) of the total amount of deficiency or delinquency in the tax, plus interest on the amount of tax due at the rate of one percent (1%) per month, except as otherwise provided in this paragraph (a), on the amount not paid, from the date such tax was due until paid, and such amount shall be added to the liability of the taxpayer unless such failure was due to reasonable cause.

(ii) For taxes assessed by the commissioner on or after January 1, 2015, the rate of any interest assessed under this section shall be:

1. Nine-tenths of one percent (9/10 of 1%) per month for such taxes assessed on or after January 1, 2015, and before January 1, 2016;

2. Eight-tenths of one percent (8/10 of 1%) per month for such taxes assessed on or after January 1, 2016, and before January 1, 2017;

3. Seven-tenths of one percent (7/10 of 1%) per month for such taxes assessed on or after January 1, 2017, and before January 1, 2018;

4. Six-tenths of one percent (6/10 of 1%) per month for such taxes assessed on or after January 1, 2018, and before January 1, 2019; and

5. One-half of one percent (1/2 of 1%) per month for such taxes assessed on or after January 1, 2019.

(b) If the failure to file the return or to remit the tax or any part thereof was the result of a fraudulent intent to evade the payment to the commissioner, the taxpayer, in addition to the criminal penalty provided in Section 27-7-347, shall be liable for a penalty of fifty percent (50%) of the tax due, plus interest on the amount of tax due at the rate of one percent (1%) per month on the amount not paid.

(c) If the failure to file an information return or to furnish a required statement within the time prescribed was not the result of any fraudulent intent, the taxpayer shall be liable for a penalty of Five Dollars ($ 5.00) per statement, with a minimum of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($ 250.00) up to a maximum of Ten Thousand Dollars ($ 10,000.00) per reporting account.

(d) If the failure to file an information return or to furnish a required statement was the result of intentional disregard of filing requirements, the taxpayer shall be liable for a penalty of Twenty-five Dollars ($ 25.00) per statement, with a minimum of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($ 250.00) up to a maximum of Fifty Thousand Dollars ($ 50,000.00) per reporting account.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.