2013 Mississippi Code
§ 77-1-1 - Creation of commission; terms, compensation and qualifications of commissioners [Repealed effective December 31, 2013]

MS Code § 77-1-1 (2013) What's This?

A public service commission, hereinafter referred to in this chapter as the commission, is hereby created, consisting of three (3) members, one (1) to be elected from each of the three (3) Supreme Court districts by the qualified electors of such district. Elections for such officers shall be held in the general election in November 1959, and every four (4) years thereafter, and the terms of office of the three (3) commissioners elected at the general election in November 1959 shall expire on December 31, 1963.

The commissioners shall each receive a yearly salary fixed by the Legislature, payable monthly.

The commissioners shall each possess the qualifications prescribed for the Secretary of State. The commissioners shall not operate, own any stock in, or be in the employment of any common or contract carrier by motor vehicle, telephone company, gas or electric utility company, or any other public utility that shall come under their jurisdiction or supervision.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.