2013 Mississippi Code
§ 47-7-55 - Parole Commission; creation; purpose; membership; compensation

MS Code § 47-7-55 (2013) What's This?

(1) There is hereby created a joint committee of the Senate and House of Representatives to be known as the Parole Commission, hereinafter referred to as the "commission." The commission shall study and make recommendations to the Legislature related to the abolition of parole, the complete and thorough classification of inmates prior to sentencing and sentencing standards.

(2) The commission shall consist of the following members:

(a) Three (3) members of the House Judiciary "B" Committee and three (3) members of the House Penitentiary Committee appointed by the Speaker.

(b) Three (3) members of the Senate Corrections Committee and three (3) members of the Senate Judiciary Committee appointed by the Lieutenant Governor.

(3) The Chairman of the Senate Corrections Committee and the Chairman of the House Penitentiary Committee shall serve as co-chair of the commission.

(4) The commission shall submit its findings and recommendations to the Legislature no later than January 2, 1996.

(5) For attending meetings of the commission, members of the commission shall receive per diem as provided by Section 25-3-69, and reimbursement of expenses as provided by Section 5-1-47. The members of the commission shall obtain the approval of the Management Committee of the House of Representatives and the Contingent Expense Committee of the Senate for per diem and travel expense expenditures of the commission. The members of the commission shall not receive per diem or expenses while the Legislature is in session. All expenses incurred by and on behalf of the commission shall be paid from the contingency funds of the Senate and the House of Representatives.

(6) In conducting its activities pursuant to this section, the commission may elicit the support of and participation by federal, state and local agencies and interested associations, organizations and individuals. The commission may appoint an advisory committee whose members shall serve without compensation. The advisory committee may consist of judges, prosecuting attorneys, defense attorneys, medical professionals, correctional personnel and any other individual or groups that the commission desires to place on the advisory committee.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.