2013 Mississippi Code
Title 27 - TAXATION AND FINANCE
Chapter 7 - INCOME TAX AND WITHHOLDING
Article 3 - WITHHOLDING OF TAX
§ 27-7-347 - Criminal penalties
(1) Willful failure to withhold tax or to remit tax to commissioner. Any employer required by Section 27-7-305 to deduct and withhold from wages of employees for the payment of state income taxes who shall willfully fail to deduct and withhold the required amounts from the wages of any employee for any payroll period, or who shall willfully fail to remit the same to the commissioner within the time prescribed by Section 27-7-309, shall, in addition to being liable for such amount, be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction therefor, shall be fined not less than One Hundred Dollars ($ 100.00), nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($ 500.00), or imprisoned for not more than six (6) months, or both so fined and imprisoned.
(2) Any person required by this article to file a declaration of estimated tax who shall willfully fail to file the same within the time required by this article, or who shall willfully give any false information in such declaration shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction, shall be fined not less than Twenty-five Dollars ($ 25.00), nor more than One Hundred Dollars ($ 100.00).
(3) Any employer who shall willfully fail to furnish an annual withholding statement to the commissioner or to any employee as required in Section 27-7-311 shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction therefor, shall be fined not less than Twenty-five Dollars ($ 25.00), nor more than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($ 250.00), or imprisoned not less than ten (10) days, nor more than ninety (90) days, or both so fined and imprisoned.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.