2013 Mississippi Code
Chapter 7 - FEES
§ 25-7-47 - Witness fees

MS Code § 25-7-47 (2013) What's This?

Witnesses in the county, circuit, and chancery courts shall receive One Dollar and Fifty Cents ($ 1.50) per day and Five Cents (5 cent(s) ) for each mile going to and returning from the courthouse to their homes by the nearest route, and such tolls and ferriages as they may actually be obliged to pay; but mileage, toll, and ferriage shall be charged but once at each term of court, and a charge shall not be made for mileage except that traveled in this state. Witnesses before a justice of the peace shall be allowed One Dollar ($ 1.00) per day and no more. Witnesses in all other cases shall receive the same compensation as they receive before the circuit court. It shall not be necessary to issue subpoenas for police officers as witnesses in city cases of cities having a population of more than ten thousand (10,000) according to the federal census of 1930; and such officers, when used as witnesses in such cases, are not to be allowed witness fees. A law enforcement officer who has retired or otherwise ceased employment as a law enforcement officer but who is required to testify in any case based on matters that arose during the course of the officer's employment shall be entitled to the same compensation and expenses from the former employing law enforcement agency as an officer on active duty under the same circumstances.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.