2013 Mississippi Code
Chapter 5 - JURIES
§ 13-5-6 - Jury commission--number, appointment, terms, qualifications, and compensation of members

MS Code § 13-5-6 (2013) What's This?

(1) A jury commission shall be established in each county to manage the jury selection process under the supervision and control of the court. The jury commission shall be composed of three (3) members who will serve a four-year term beginning on January 1, 1975, as follows: One (1) member shall be appointed by the circuit judge of said county; one (1) member shall be appointed by the chancery judge of said county; and one (1) member shall be appointed by the board of supervisors of said county. If there is more than one (1) circuit or chancery judge in a judicial district, then the senior circuit or chancery judge, as the case may be, shall make the said appointment for each county in his district. Any unexpired term shall be filled by the appropriate appointing authority who is in office at the time the vacancy occurs.

(2) A jury commissioner shall have the following qualifications:

(a) He shall be a duly qualified elector at the time of his appointment;

(b) He shall be a resident citizen in the county in which he is to serve; and

(c) He shall not be an attorney nor an elected public official.

(3) Each jury commissioner shall receive compensation at a per diem rate as provided in Section 25-3-69.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Mississippi may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.