2006 Michigan Compiled Laws - Mich. Comp. Laws § 257.908 Default as civil contempt; penalty.

MICHIGAN VEHICLE CODE (EXCERPT)
Act 300 of 1949


257.908 Default as civil contempt; penalty.

Sec. 908.

(1) If a defendant defaults in the payment of a civil fine, costs, or both, or of any installment, as ordered pursuant to section 907(2), the court, upon the motion of the plaintiff or upon its own motion, may require the defendant to show cause why the default should not be treated as in civil contempt and may issue a summons or order to show cause or a bench warrant of arrest for the defendant's appearance.

(2) When a corporation or an association is ordered to pay a civil fine or costs, the persons authorized to make disbursement shall pay the fine or costs, and their failure to do so shall be civil contempt unless they make the showing required in this section.

(3) Unless the defendant shows that the default was not attributable to an intentional refusal to obey the order of the court or to a failure on his or her part to make a good faith effort to obtain the funds required for payment, the court shall find that the default constitutes a civil contempt and may order the defendant committed until the civil fine, costs, or both, or a specified part thereof, is paid.

(4) If it appears that the default in the payment of a civil fine or costs does not constitute civil contempt, the court may enter an order allowing the defendant additional time for payment, reducing the amount of payment or of each installment, or revoking the fine or costs or the unpaid portion thereof in whole or in part.

(5) The term of imprisonment on civil contempt for nonpayment of a civil fine or costs shall be specified in the order of commitment, and shall not exceed 1 day for each $10.00 of the fine and costs. A person committed for nonpayment of a civil fine or costs shall be given credit toward payment for each day of imprisonment and each day of detention in default of recognizance before judgment at the rate of $10.00 per day.

(6) A defendant committed to imprisonment for civil contempt for nonpayment of a civil fine or costs shall not be discharged from custody until 1 of the following occurs:

(a) The defendant has been credited with the amount due pursuant to subsection (5).

(b) The amount due has actually been collected through execution of process or otherwise.

(c) The amount due has been satisfied pursuant to a combination of subdivisions (a) and (b).

(7) The civil contempt shall be purged upon discharge of the defendant pursuant to subsection (6).


History: Add. 1978, Act 510, Eff. Aug. 1, 1979



Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Michigan may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.