2006 Michigan Compiled Laws - Mich. Comp. Laws § 257.905 Violation of financial responsibility chapter; penalty.

MICHIGAN VEHICLE CODE (EXCERPT)
Act 300 of 1949


257.905 Violation of financial responsibility chapter; penalty.

Sec. 905.

Any person who shall forge, or without authority, sign any evidence of ability to respond in damages as required by the secretary of state in the administration of chapter 5 and any person who shall violate any provisions of chapter 5 for which no penalty is otherwise provided, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not less than $100.00 nor more than $1,000.00, or imprisoned not more than 90 days or both. Any person whose operator's or chauffeur's license or registration card or other privilege to operate a motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked and restoration thereof or issuance of a new license or registration is contingent upon the furnishing of proof of financial responsibility and who during such suspension or revocation or in the absence of full authorization from the secretary of state drives any motor vehicle upon any highway or knowingly permits any motor vehicle owned by such person to be operated by another person upon any highway except as permitted hereunder shall be punished by a fine of not more than $500.00 and by imprisonment for a period of not less than 2 days nor more than 1 year or by both such fine and imprisonment.


History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949 ;-- Am. 1951, Act 270, Eff. Sept. 28, 1951
Compiler's Notes: Sections 2 and 4 of Act 510 of 1978 provide as follows:"Section 2. Sections 727a and 905 of Act No. 300 of the Public Acts of 1949, being sections 257.727a and 257.905 of the Compiled Laws of 1970, are repealed.""Section 4. This amendatory act shall not take effect until August 1, 1979."Sections 2 and 4 of Act 66 of 1979 provide as follows:"Section 2. Section 2 of Act No. 510 of the Public Acts of 1978 is repealed.""Section 4. Except for section 2 of this act, this act shall take effect August 1, 1979."Act 66 of 1979 was ordered to take immediate effect on July 25, 1979.



Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Michigan may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.