2006 Michigan Compiled Laws - Mich. Comp. Laws § 257.531 Self-insurance; certificate, cancellation.

MICHIGAN VEHICLE CODE (EXCERPT)
Act 300 of 1949


257.531 Self-insurance; certificate, cancellation.

Sec. 531.

(a) Any person in whose name more than 25 motor vehicles are registered may qualify as a self-insurer by obtaining a certificate of self-insurance issued by the secretary of state as provided in paragraph (b) of this section.

(b) The secretary of state may, in his discretion, upon the application of such a person, issue a certificate of self-insurance when he is satisfied that such person is possessed and will continue to be possessed of ability to pay judgments obtained against such person.

(c) Upon not less than 5 days' notice and a hearing pursuant to such notice, the secretary of state may upon reasonable grounds cancel a certificate of self-insurance. Failure to pay any judgment within 30 days after such judgment shall have become final shall constitute a reasonable ground for the cancellation of a certificate of self-insurance.


History: 1949, Act 300, Eff. Sept. 23, 1949



Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Michigan may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.