2022 Maryland Statutes
Public Safety
Title 5 - Firearms
Subtitle 1 - Regulated Firearms
Section 5-128 - Purchases Within 30 Days -- in General

    (a)    Subsection (b) of this section does not apply to:

        (1)    a law enforcement agency;

        (2)    an agency authorized to perform law enforcement duties;

        (3)    a State or local correctional facility;

        (4)    a private security company licensed to do business in the State;

        (5)    the purchase of an antique firearm;

        (6)    a purchase by a licensee;

        (7)    the exchange or replacement of a regulated firearm by a seller for a regulated firearm purchased from the seller by the same person seeking the exchange or replacement within 30 days immediately before the exchange or replacement; or

        (8)    a person whose regulated firearm is stolen or irretrievably lost and who considers it essential that the regulated firearm be replaced immediately, if:

            (i)    the person provides the licensee with a copy of the official police report or an official summary of the report, a copy of which shall be attached to the firearm application;

            (ii)    the official police report or official summary of the report contains the name and address of the regulated firearm owner, a description of the regulated firearm, the location of the loss or theft, the date of the loss or theft, and the date when the loss or theft was reported to the law enforcement agency; and

            (iii)    the loss or theft occurred within 30 days before the person’s attempt to replace the regulated firearm, as reflected by the date of loss or theft on the official police report or official summary of the report.

    (b)    A person may not purchase more than one regulated firearm in a 30-day period.

    (c)    A licensee or other person may not sell, rent, or transfer a regulated firearm to a firearm applicant whose firearm application is placed on hold because of an open disposition of criminal proceedings against the firearm applicant or disapproved, unless the hold or disapproval has been subsequently withdrawn by the Secretary or overruled by a court in accordance with § 5-127 of this subtitle.

    (d)    A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $5,000 or both.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.