2022 Maryland Statutes
Criminal Law
Title 5 - Controlled Dangerous Substances, Prescriptions, and Other Substances
Subtitle 9 - Criminal and Civil Liability
Section 5-902 - Prohibited Acts

    (a)    Except as otherwise authorized by this title, a person may not:

        (1)    omit, remove, alter, or obliterate a symbol required by federal law for a substance governed by this title;

        (2)    refuse or fail to make, keep, or furnish a record, notification, order form, statement, invoice, or information required under this title;

        (3)    refuse entry into a premises or inspection, if the entry or inspection is authorized under this title; or

        (4)    as a registrant or other authorized person under this title, keep or maintain a store, shop, warehouse, dwelling house, building, vehicle, boat, aircraft, or other place that is:

            (i)    resorted to by persons using a controlled dangerous substance in violation of this title for the purpose of using a controlled dangerous substance; or

            (ii)    used for keeping or selling a controlled dangerous substance in violation of this title.

    (b)    Unless authorized by the registrant’s registration, a registrant may not manufacture, distribute, or dispense a controlled dangerous substance to another registrant or other authorized person.

    (c)    An authorized provider may not prescribe, administer, manufacture, distribute, dispense, or possess a controlled dangerous substance, drug paraphernalia, or controlled paraphernalia except:

        (1)    in the course of regular professional duties; and

        (2)    in conformity with this title and the standards of the authorized provider’s profession relating to controlled dangerous substances, drug paraphernalia, or controlled paraphernalia.

    (d)    A controlled dangerous substance, drug paraphernalia, or controlled paraphernalia manufactured, distributed, dispensed, possessed, prescribed, or administered in violation of subsection (c) of this section is contraband.

    (e)    (1)    If the trier of fact specifically finds that a person has knowingly or intentionally violated this section, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 2 years or a fine not exceeding $100,000 or both.

        (2)    In all other cases, a person who violates this section is subject to a civil penalty not exceeding $50,000.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.