2021 Maryland Statutes
Title 16 - Vehicle Laws -- Drivers' Licenses
Subtitle 1 - Issuance, Expiration, and Renewal of Licenses
Section 16-114 - Duplicate License

    (a)    In this section, “mutilated” includes any imperfection of or in a driver’s license, after its issuance, that renders it unsuitable for identification purposes or for verifying its authenticity and validity.

    (b)    If a driver’s license is lost, stolen, mutilated, or destroyed, the licensee immediately shall apply for and, after furnishing information satisfactory to the Administration and payment of the required fee, is entitled to obtain a duplicate license. If the duplicate license being applied for is of a type requiring a photo and the licensee is temporarily absent from this State, the Administration may issue a regular license bearing the notation that it is valid without a photo until 15 days after the licensee first returns to this State.

    (c)    A licensee who is at least 21 years may apply for a duplicate license that includes a frontal photograph of the licensee.

    (d)    If a person recovers an original license for which a duplicate has been issued, the person promptly shall surrender the original license to the Administration.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.