2019 Maryland Code
Transportation
Title 16 - Vehicle Laws -- Drivers' Licenses
Subtitle 3 - Violation of License Provisions
§ 16-301. Unlawful application for or use of license or permit.

    (a)    A person may not knowingly or fraudulently obtain or attempt to obtain a license to drive or a moped operator’s permit by misrepresentation.

    (b)    A person may not in any application for a license to drive or a moped operator’s permit:

        (1)    Use a false or fictitious name;

        (2)    Knowingly make a false statement;

        (3)    Knowingly conceal a material fact;

        (4)    Use a false, fictitious, or fraudulently altered document; or

        (5)    Otherwise commit a fraud.

    (c)    A person may not display or cause or permit to be displayed any canceled license.

    (d)    A person may not display or cause or permit to be displayed any revoked license.

    (e)    A person may not display or cause or permit to be displayed any suspended license.

    (f)    A person may not display or cause or permit to be displayed any fictitious license.

    (g)    A person may not display or cause or permit to be displayed any fraudulently altered license.

    (h)    A person may not possess any canceled license.

    (i)    A person may not possess any revoked license.

    (j)    A person may not possess any suspended license.

    (k)    A person may not possess any fictitious license.

    (l)    A person may not possess any fraudulently altered license.

    (m)    A person may not lend his license to any other person or knowingly permit the use of his license by another.

    (n)    A person may not display or represent as his own any license not issued to him.

    (o)    A person may not fail or refuse to surrender to the Administration on its lawful demand any license that has been suspended, revoked, or canceled.

    (p)    A person may not permit any unlawful use of a license issued to him.

    (q)    A person may not do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act required by this title.

    (r)    (1)    Except as provided in paragraphs (2) and (3) of this subsection, a person convicted of a violation of this section is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 2 months or a fine not exceeding $500 or both.

        (2)    A person convicted of a violation of subsection (a) or (b) of this section is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $2,500 or both.

        (3)    A person convicted of a violation of subsection (h), (i), or (j) of this section is subject to a fine not exceeding $500.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.