2019 Maryland Code
Labor and Employment
Title 9 - Workers' Compensation
Subtitle 11 - Prohibited Acts; Penalties
§ 9-1105. Discharge of employee for filing claim

    (a)    An employer may not discharge a covered employee from employment solely because the covered employee files a claim for compensation under this title.

    (b)    A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $500 or imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or both.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.