2018 Maryland Code
Transportation
Title 16 - Vehicle Laws -- Drivers' Licenses
Subtitle 1 - Issuance, Expiration, and Renewal of Licenses
§ 16-114.1. Corrected license

  • (a) Commercial licenses -- In general. -- To obtain a corrected photo commercial driver's license, an individual shall:

    • (1) Apply for a corrected commercial driver's license on the form required by the Administration;

    • (2) Surrender the individual's original license; and

    • (3) Pay the required fee.

  • (b) Commercial licenses -- Expiration. -- A corrected photo commercial driver's license shall expire on the date that the individual's original license expired.

  • (c) Other licenses -- In general. -- If an individual other than one who holds a commercial driver's license desires a corrected photo license in lieu of a correction card for a desired or required correction, the individual shall:

    • (1) Apply for a corrected photo license on the form required by the Administration;

    • (2) Surrender the individual's original license; and

    • (3) Pay the required fee.

  • (d) Other licenses -- Expiration. --

    • (1) A corrected photo license issued under subsection (c) of this section to a driver at least 21 years old shall expire on the birth date of the licensee in the fifth year following the issuance of the license.

    • (2) A corrected photo license issued under subsection (c) of this section to a driver under age 21 years shall expire 60 days after the driver's 21st birthday.

  • (e) Fees. -- If a licensee applies for a photo license to correct an error made by the Administration, the Administration shall issue the corrected license without charging the licensee a fee.

  • (f) Absence from State. --

    • (1) If an individual, other than one who holds a commercial driver's license, is temporarily absent from the State and desires a corrected license, the Administration may issue a nonphoto corrected license bearing the notation that it is valid without a photo until 15 days after the licensee first returns to this State.

    • (2) The licensee shall:

      • (i) Apply for the corrected license on the form required by the Administration; and

      • (ii) Pay the required fee.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.