2017 Maryland Code
Title 16 - Vehicle Laws -- Drivers' Licenses
Subtitle 1 - Issuance, Expiration, and Renewal of Licenses
§ 16-103. Persons not to be licensed -- Minimum age requirements
- (a) General rule. -- Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, the Administration may not issue a driver's license to any individual who is not at least 18 years old.
- (b) Certain licenses to persons 16 to 18. --
- (1) Except as provided under paragraph (2) of this subsection, the Administration may issue a noncommercial Class B, C, or M license to an individual under the age of 18 if the individual otherwise qualifies for a driver's license under this subtitle.
- (2) The Administration may not issue a Class M license to an individual under the age of 18 years unless the individual has also completed satisfactorily a motorcycle safety course approved under Subtitle 6 of this title.
- (c) Minimum age for learner's permit. -- The Administration may not issue:
- (1) A learner's instructional permit to any individual who has not reached the age of 15 years, 9 months;
- (2) A provisional license to any individual who has not reached the age of 16 years, 6 months; or
- (3) A license to any individual who has not reached the age of 18 years.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.