2017 Maryland Code
Title 3 - Other Crimes Against the Person
Subtitle 2 - Assault, Reckless Endangerment, and Related Crimes
§ 3-203. Assault in the second degree
- (a) Prohibited. -- A person may not commit an assault.
- (b) Penalty. -- Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, a person who violates subsection (a) of this section is guilty of the misdemeanor of assault in the second degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $ 2,500 or both.
- (c) Officers, agents, first responders. --
- (1) In this subsection, "physical injury" means any impairment of physical condition, excluding minor injuries.
- (2) A person may not intentionally cause physical injury to another if the person knows or has reason to know that the other is:
- (i) a law enforcement officer engaged in the performance of the officer's official duties;
- (ii) a parole or probation agent engaged in the performance of the agent's official duties; or
- (iii) a firefighter, an emergency medical technician, a rescue squad member, or any other first responder engaged in providing emergency medical care or rescue services.
- (3) A person who violates paragraph (2) of this subsection is guilty of the felony of assault in the second degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $ 5,000 or both.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.