2013 Maryland Code
§ 2-203 - Composition; qualifications; tenure; vacancies

MD Transp Code § 2-203 (2013) What's This?


(a) The Commission consists of the following 17 members:

(1) As ex officio members, the seven regional members of the State Roads Commission; and

(2) Ten members appointed by the Governor with the advice of the Secretary.

(b) An appointed member may not be an officer or employee of the Department. Each appointed member shall be a resident of this State and have interest and, preferably, experience in at least one of the fields under the jurisdiction of the Department.

(c) (1) Each appointed member serves for a term of 3 years and until his successor is appointed and qualifies. The terms of appointed members shall be staggered as required by the original appointments to the Commission, three of which were made for a 3-year term, four of which were made for a 2-year term, and three of which were made for a 1-year term.

(2) A member appointed to fill a vacancy in an unexpired term serves only for the remainder of that term.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.