2013 Maryland Code
TRANSPORTATION
§ 13-936 - Historic motor vehicles: Class L (historic) vehicles


MD Transp Code § 13-936 (2013) What's This?

§13-936.

(a) In this section, “historic motor vehicle” means a motor vehicle, including a passenger vehicle, motorcycle, or truck that:

(1) Is at least 20 years old;

(2) Has not been substantially altered from the manufacturer’s original design; and

(3) Meets criteria contained in regulations adopted by the Administration.

(b) In this section, “historic motor vehicle” does not include a vehicle that has been remanufactured or reconstructed as a replica of an original vehicle.

(c) If registered with the Administration under this section, every historic motor vehicle is a Class L (historic) vehicle.

(d) Except as provided in subsection (i) of this section, for each Class L (historic) vehicle, the annual registration fee is $25.50.

(e) In applying for registration of a historic motor vehicle under this section, the owner of the vehicle shall submit with the application a certification that the vehicle for which the application is made:

(1) Will be maintained for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, occasional transportation, and similar uses; and

(2) Will not be used:

(i) For general daily transportation; or

(ii) Primarily for the transportation of passengers or property on highways.

(f) Except as provided in § 13-936.1 of this subtitle, on registration of a vehicle under this section, the Administration shall issue a special, historic motor vehicle registration plate of the size and design that the Administration determines.

(g) Unless the presence of the equipment was specifically required by a statute of this State as a condition of sale when the vehicle was manufactured, the presence of any specific equipment is not required for the operation of a vehicle registered under this section.

(h) A vehicle registered under this section is exempt from any statute that requires periodic vehicle inspections or that requires the use and inspection of emission controls.

(i) (1) For a motor vehicle manufactured at least 60 years prior to the current model year, there is a onetime registration fee of $50.00.

(2) Registration of a motor vehicle manufactured under this subsection is not transferable to a subsequent owner.

§ 13-936 - 1. Historic motor vehicles: Vintage registration plates

(a) "Vintage registration plate" defined. -- In this section, "vintage registration plate" means a Maryland registration plate that was actually issued for display on a motor vehicle in a year not less than 25 years prior to January 1 of each calendar year.

(b) Display. --

(1) Subject to the provisions of this subsection, the owner of a motor vehicle registered under § 13-936 or § 13-937.1 of this subtitle as a Class L (historic) or Class N (street rod) vehicle may display 2 vintage registration plates in lieu of current registration plates on that vehicle.

(2) The Administration may authorize the display of 2 vintage registration plates in lieu of current registration plates on a motor vehicle described in paragraph (1) of this subsection if:

(i) The owner of the motor vehicle submits an application on a form prescribed by the Administrator;

(ii) The 2 vintage registration plates were issued in the same year as the model year of the motor vehicle; and

(iii) The owner of the motor vehicle pays a onetime registration fee of $ 25.50.

(c) Term; no additional fee. -- If the Administration authorizes the display of vintage registration plates under this section:

(1) The vintage registration plates shall remain valid for as long as title to the motor vehicle remains in the person who submitted an application under subsection (b)(2)(i) of this section; and

(2) A fee in addition to the onetime registration fee prescribed in subsection (b)(2)(iii) of this section is not required for the issuance of the vintage registration plates.

§ 13-936 - 2. Historic motor vehicles -- Trucks, tractors, and motor homes

(a) "Historic motor vehicle" defined. -- In this section, "historic motor vehicle" means a Class E (truck) with a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating in excess of 10,000 pounds, Class F (tractor), or a Class M (multipurpose) motor home that:

(1) Is at least 25 years old;

(2) Has not been substantially altered from the manufacturer's original design; and

(3) Meets criteria contained in regulations adopted by the Administration.

(b) Remanufactured or reconstructed vehicle not included. -- In this section, "historic motor vehicle" does not include a vehicle that has been remanufactured or reconstructed as a replica of an original vehicle.

(c) Designation as Class L vehicle. -- If registered with the Administration under this section, every historic motor vehicle is a Class L (historic) vehicle.

(d) Annual registration fee. -- Except as provided in subsection (i) of this section, for each Class L (historic) vehicle, the annual registration fee is $ 25.50.

(e) Prohibited uses; certification. --

(1) A historic motor vehicle registered under this section may not be used for:

(i) General daily transportation; or

(ii) Any commercial transportation of passengers or property on highways.

(2) In applying for registration of a historic motor vehicle under this section, the owner of the vehicle shall submit with the application a certification that the vehicle for which the application is made:

(i) Will be maintained for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, and similar uses;

(ii) Will not be used for:

1. General daily transportation; or

2. Any commercial transportation of passengers or property on highways; and

(iii) Is insured by a historic vehicle, a show vehicle, or an antique vehicle insurance policy.

(f) Registration plate. -- Except as provided in § 13-936.1 of this subtitle, on registration of a vehicle under the section, the Administration shall issue a special, historic motor vehicle registration plate of the size and design that the Administration determines.

(g) Specific equipment for operation of vehicle. -- Unless the presence of the equipment was specifically required by a statute of this State as a condition of sale when the vehicle was manufactured, the presence of any specific equipment is not required for the operation of a vehicle registered under this section.

(h) Exemption from periodic inspections; safety equipment repair order. --

(1) A vehicle registered under this section is exempt from any statute that requires periodic vehicle inspections or that requires the use and inspection of emission controls.

(2) Paragraph (1) of this subsection may not be construed to limit the authority of a police officer to issue a safety equipment repair order for defective equipment under § 23-105 of this article.

(i) Onetime registration fee for vehicle manufactured 60 years prior to current model. --

(1) For a motor vehicle manufactured at least 60 years prior to the current model year, there is a onetime registration fee of $ 50.00.

(2) Registration of a motor vehicle described in paragraph (1) of this subsection is not transferable to a subsequent owner.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.