2013 Maryland Code
§ 10-408 - Term and renewal of license
(a) A license expires at the end of every other June 30 unless it is renewed for a 2-year term as provided in this section.
(b) At least 1 month before a license expires, the Commissioner shall mail to the holder of the license, at the last known address of the holder:
(1) a renewal application form; and
(2) a notice that states:
(i) the date by which the Commissioner must receive the renewal application for the renewal to be issued and mailed before the license expires; and
(ii) the amount of the renewal fee.
(c) Before a license expires, the holder of the license may renew it for an additional 2-year term, if the holder:
(1) otherwise is entitled to a license;
(2) files with the Commissioner a renewal application on the form that the Commissioner provides; and
(3) pays to the Commissioner the renewal fee required by § 2-112 of this article.
(d) An application for renewal of a license shall be considered made in a timely manner if it is postmarked on or before June 30 of the year of renewal.
(e) (1) The Commissioner shall renew the license of each holder who meets the requirements of this section.
(2) If the holder of a license files an application for renewal before the license expires, the license shall remain in effect until:
(i) the Commissioner issues a renewal license; or
(ii) 5 days after the Commissioner refuses in writing to renew the license and serves notice of the refusal on the holder.
§ 10-408 - 1. Reinstatement of license
(a) Authorized. -- For up to 1 year after the expiration date, a person whose public adjuster's license has expired may reinstate the expired license by:
(1) filing with the Commissioner the appropriate reinstatement application; and
(2) paying to the Commissioner the applicable reinstatement fee required under subsection (b) of this section.
(b) Fee. --
(1) The fee for a reinstatement under this section shall be:
(i) the amount charged for a full renewal period for the type of license held by the person seeking the reinstatement; and
(ii) a reinstatement fee of $ 100.
(2) The Commissioner may limit the reinstatement fee to the amount of the renewal fee in cases where the reinstatement applicant did not make timely renewal because of military service, temporary incapacity, hospitalization, or other hardship.
(c) Effect of expired license. -- A person whose public adjuster's license has expired is prohibited from acting as a public adjuster until the effective date of reinstatement of the license.
(d) Effectiveness of reinstatement. --
(1) If a person applies for reinstatement of an expired license within 60 days after the license expired, the Commissioner shall reinstate the license retroactively, with the reinstatement effective on the date that the person's license expired.
(2) If a person applies for reinstatement of an expired license more than 60 days after the license expired, the Commissioner shall reinstate the person's license prospectively, with the reinstatement effective on the date that the license is reinstated.
(e) Failure to reinstate. -- A person who does not comply with subsection (a) of this section on or before 1 year after the expiration date shall apply for a license under § 10-405 of this subtitle and meet the requirements specified by the Commissioner in regulation.
(f) Regulations. -- The Commissioner may adopt regulations to carry out this section.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.