2010 Maryland Code
TITLE 11 - VICTIMS AND WITNESSES
Subtitle 6 - Restitution and Other Payments
Section 11-604 - Payers of restitution.
§ 11-604. Payers of restitution.
(a) Restitution allowed against child, parent, or both.- Subject to subsection (b) of this section and notwithstanding any other law, if a child is the defendant or child respondent, the court may order the child, the child's parent, or both to pay restitution.
(b) $10,000 limit.- A judgment of restitution for $10,000 issued under Part I of this subtitle is the absolute limit for each child's acts arising out of a single incident.
(c) Rights of parents.-
(1) A court may not enter a judgment of restitution against a parent under Part I of this subtitle unless the parent has been afforded a reasonable opportunity to be heard and to present evidence.
(2) A hearing under this subsection may be held as part of the sentencing or disposition hearing.
[An. Code 1957, art. 27, § 807(a)(3); 2001, ch. 10, § 2; 2005, ch. 512.]
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.