2010 Maryland Code
TITLE 6 - CRIMES AGAINST PROPERTY
Subtitle 1 - Arson and Burning
Section 6-102 - Arson in the first degree.
§ 6-102. Arson in the first degree.
(a) Prohibited.- A person may not willfully and maliciously set fire to or burn:
(1) a dwelling; or
(2) a structure in or on which an individual who is not a participant is present.
(b) Penalty.- A person who violates this section is guilty of the felony of arson in the first degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 30 years or a fine not exceeding $50,000 or both.
(c) Prohibited defense.- It is not a defense to a prosecution under this section that the person owns the property.
[An. Code 1957, art. 27, §§ 5(d), 6; 2002, ch. 26, § 2.]
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Maryland may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.