2011 Louisiana Laws
Revised Statutes
TITLE 42 — Public officers and employees
RS 42:1302 — Louisiana deferred compensation commission

LA Rev Stat § 42:1302 What's This?

§1302. Louisiana Deferred Compensation Commission

A. There is hereby created within the Department of Treasury the Louisiana Deferred Compensation Commission for the purpose of continuing the plan. The Commission shall exist and perform its powers, duties, functions, and responsibilities in the manner provided for agencies transferred in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 36:801.1.

B. The Commission shall consist of seven members as follows:

(1) The state treasurer.

(2) The commissioner of administration.

(3) The commissioner of insurance.

(4) The commissioner of financial institutions.

(5) Three participant members who shall be elected by participants in accordance with rules promulgated by the Commission.

C. The terms of the participant members who are first elected to membership on the Commission shall be as follows:

(1) One such member shall be elected for a term of three years.

(2) One such member shall be elected for a term of two years.

(3) One such member shall be elected for a term of one year.

Thereafter, each participant member shall be elected for a three-year term.

D. Each of the ex officio members of the Commission may be represented at any meeting of the Commission by his duly authorized representative.

E. Vacancies on the Commission arising because of death, resignation, or incapacity of a participant member shall be filled by a participant selected by the remaining members of the Commission; however, the person so chosen shall serve only until the next regularly scheduled annual election of a participant member. The participant elected at such election to fill such vacancy shall serve during the remainder of the unexpired term.

F. The members of the Commission shall choose their officers who shall serve for one year terms, but who may be reelected for successive terms.

G. Participant members of the Commission shall be eligible for reelection.

H. Membership on the Commission shall not be incompatible with the holding of any other public office or employment.

I. The members of the Commission shall serve without compensation but shall be entitled to receive travel expenses.

J. The attorney general shall be the legal advisor of the commission.

Added by Acts 1972, No. 623, §1. Amended by Acts 1974, No. 410, §1; Acts 1975, No. 176, §1. Acts 1976, No. 132, §1; Acts 1978, No. 684, §1; Acts 1979, No. 233, §1; Acts 1982, No. 1, §1, eff. May 6, 1982.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Louisiana may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.