2011 Louisiana Laws
Revised Statutes
TITLE 25 — Libraries, museums, and other scientific
RS 25:701 — Republic of west florida historic region

LA Rev Stat § 25:701 What's This?


§701. Recognition of Historic Region

That portion of Louisiana east of the Mississippi River and north of the Isle of Orleans, which was part of the British Colony of West Florida until 1779, the Spanish Colony of West Florida until 1810, and finally the Republic of West Florida in late 1810, is an official region of the state of Louisiana. This unique region, which has national and international significance, shall be known as the Republic of West Florida Historic Region, or the Florida Parishes of Louisiana. The region shall include the parishes of East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Washington, and West Feliciana.

Acts 1990, No. 1021, §1.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Louisiana may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.