2006 Louisiana Laws - RS 41:1602 — Louisiana archaeological survey and antiquities commission

§1602.  Louisiana Archaeological Survey and Antiquities Commission

A.  There is hereby created the Louisiana Archaeological Survey and Antiquities Commission which shall be referred to as the "commission" for the purposes of this Chapter.  The purpose of the commission shall be to promote the goals and objectives of the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism and to act in an advisory capacity to that department and its secretary in their administration of this Chapter and in matters relating to antiquities, archaeology, and other cultural resources.

B.(1)  The commission shall be composed of eleven members.  The person designated as state archaeologist and one representative each from the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism and the Department of Natural Resources, and the Governor's Commission on Indian Affairs shall be ex officio voting members of the commission.  The governor shall appoint seven members to the commission from a list of two nominees submitted to him by the ex officio members for each appointment he is to make, provided that at least one appointment shall be a member of the Louisiana Archaeological Society.

(2)  The nominees shall be lay or professional archaeologists from throughout the state who possess such degree of training and experience as, in the opinion of the ex officio members, makes them exceptionally responsive to the scientific, social, aesthetic, and cultural needs of the public in the protection and preservation of the cultural resources of the state.  Appointed members shall be confirmed by the Senate and shall serve terms concurrent with that of the governor making the appointment.

C.  The seat of an appointed member which becomes vacant during the term of his appointment shall be filled by the governor from a list of two nominees submitted to him by the remaining members of the commission.  The nominees shall possess the same qualifications as the other appointed members.  The seat of any appointed member who shall miss three consecutive duly called meetings of the commission shall be deemed vacant and the vacancy shall be filled in the above described manner.

D.  The members of the commission may be paid a per diem of fifty dollars for each day spent in attendance at meetings of the commission or on necessary business of the commission assigned by the commission and shall be reimbursed for reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.

E.  The commission shall elect one of its members as chairman and shall provide for its internal organization in a manner designed to best implement and accomplish its duties.

F.  The commission shall meet at least four times a year to consider and vote on matters which come before it.  Special meetings shall be held on the call of the chairman or on request of a majority of the members.  Any six members of the commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of any and all business at any regular or special meeting.  In the absence of the chairman, the remaining members may appoint a temporary chairman having all the powers of the absent chairman.

Acts 1989, No. 291, §1.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Louisiana may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.