2006 Louisiana Laws - RS 8:122 — Board, qualification of members; appointment; vacancies; removal of members; officers

§122.  Board, qualification of members; appointment; vacancies; removal of members; officers

A.  The St. Mary Parish Cemetery District shall be governed by a board of five commissioners, hereinafter referred to as the board, who shall be qualified voters and residents of the district and who shall serve without compensation.  The board shall be appointed by the parish governing authority, one member to be from each of the following: the unincorporated area of Police Jury District 3, that part of Police Jury District 5 lying outside of 1980 Census Enumeration Districts 150T, 150U, and 151, the municipalities of Berwick and Morgan City, and the area of Bayou Vista.  Three of the initial commissioners so appointed shall serve for two years, two for four years, and one for five years.

B.  At the expiration of their respective terms of office, the successors to such initial appointees shall be appointed within thirty days for five-year terms.  Vacancies shall be filled in accordance with the provisions of Subsection A of this Section.  Any member of the board may be removed for cause and his appointment rescinded by two-thirds vote of the elected membership of the parish governing authority.

C.  At its first meeting the board shall elect one of its members chairman and may, in its discretion, elect other officers from the membership.  Special meetings shall be held at such time and place as shall be specified by call of the chairman.

Added by Acts 1981, No. 862, §1.  Amended by Acts 1982, No. 296, §1.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Louisiana may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.